Saving Cee Cee Honeycutt by Beth Hoffman

When 12 year old Cee Cee Honeycutt’s mother dies in an accident, Cee Cee finds herself transported from a drab small town in Ohio, to the colorful Savannah, Georgia where she finds herself surrounded by the most colorful women imaginable.

I picked up my copy of Saving Cee Cee Honeycutt during my last trip to Goodwill, I had heard about the title several years ago so I could not resist picking it up when the opportunity presented itself. Although I had heard about the book, I didn’t know enough about it so I was able to go into it without expectations.

It was a sweet story, for some unknown reason I’m a sucker for Southern novels like this so I instantly fell under the spell of it, even though it wasn’t a standout novel by a long shot.

I liked Beth Hoffman’s writing style, and I fell in love with many off the passages and quotes that I encountered.

“It’s what we believe about ourselves that determines how others see us.”
Beth Hoffman

I liked the characters, although I did not feel as though they were fleshed out quite as well as I would like. Sometimes they felt a little too likable, and it was hard to see what their flaws were and for such a relatively short book (300 pages or so) there were a lot of characters. It was nice, as most of the characters-all the major characters-were female, but at times it felt a little overwhelming to get introduced to characters for only a few pages.

The novel was set in the 60’s, so of course there had to be some racial tensions played out, but it seemed to wrap up too easily. I found that that bothered me for reasons I can’t put into words.

Saving Cee Cee Honeycutt was definitely a comfort read, which I appreciate, but I am hoping for a little more sustenance with my next read.

Leave a Reply

