Heavy Heart

image

I am sure that, by now, you have heard about the attack in Paris, France.

I am heartbroken by the events that took place and I am struggling tonight to make sense of it, to make sense of any and every violent act that takes place in the world.

I used to feel safe in my world. Even when bad things happened, I was able to assure myself that I’d be okay, that the odds were slim, that mass shootings and terrorist attacks were isolated incidences…but I don’t think I can believe it anymore. I admit, I’m scared. When I am in public I can no longer relax. I can never quite shake that fear of what could happen to myself or my loved ones.

I wonder I’ll ever shake off the fear.

Leave a Reply

